RummerLab is a not-for-profit organisation

RummerLab Logo


Physioshark Project




RummerLab, led by Dr Jodie Rummer, focuses on researching the physiological processes and adaptations of aquatic animals in response to environmental stressors. Our research aims to understand how these organisms cope with changing conditions and contribute to the conservation of aquatic ecosystems.

Protecting our reefs is paramount for ensuring the survival of sharks. The health of these ecosystems is intricately linked.

Seeing the connection firsthand transforms our understanding and appreciation for marine conservation.

Healthy Reefs

Healthy Sharks

Join Our Team!

Are you interested in joining our lab? Fill this Google Form to apply:

Baby Sharks in a Changing World

The Physioshark Research Program at James Cook University is dedicated to understanding how climate change is impacting sharks and informing conservation efforts. The team investigates the effects of rising sea temperatures, ocean acidification, and declining oxygen on the physiology and behaviour of sharks. Sharks are an important element of healthy environments and without them entire ocean ecosystems can fall out of balance. Based on the Great Barrier Reef and in French Polynesia the Physioshark Research Program seeks to understand and protect sharks in a changing world. By working to safeguard these important predators, the team is contributing to the health and sustainability of marine ecosystems, which are essential to the well-being of our planet.

To donate to the cause, JCU have set up non-U.S. donors page and a page for U.S. donors (for U.S. specific tax deduction purposes).

Research Areas

Our main research areas focus lies in the ecological, evolutionary, and conservation physiology in fishes.

Philip Munday
Jacob L Johansen
Bridie JM Allan
Göran Erik Nilsson
Sue-Ann Watson
Colin Simpfendorfer
John Fleng Steffensen
Tiffany Nay
Steven J. Cooke
Connor Gervais
Jonathan Stecyk
Rui Rosa
Amelia Wenger
Craig E Franklin
Johann Mourier
Wayne Bennett
Timothy D. Clark
Mark Meekan
Tracy D Ainsworth
Katharina Fabricius
Douglas Chivers
Maud Ferrari
Michelle Heupel
Kevin Hultine
Naomi M Gardiner
Sandra A. Binning
Dominique Roche
Nann Fangue
Andrew Esbaugh
Danielle L Dixson
Alistair Cheal
Patricia Schulte
Geoffrey P Jones
Andrew Chin, PhD
David J. McKenzie
Shaun S. Killen
Matthew Mitchell
Dr Ian M. McLeod